Home

Last month on Dec. 27, 2013 I went out to find some birding areas and to get familiar with my new surroundings up here in North East PA. I happened upon an area where I saw a couple vehicles parked so I haphazardly stopped to see what was there. It turned out to be a popular hunting area along some railroad tracks. Fortunately, no hunters were in close proximity and I was glad to not hear any gun shots or see any dead animals. The only shots taken were by me with my camera. The ensuing photos are of my walk along the tracks which presented some very scenic views but no birds.

DSC_0558
View leading to the railroad tracks

DSC_0570
Icicles along the mountainside next to the railroad tracks

DSC_0574
Icicles along the mountainside next to the railroad tracks

DSC_0592
Icicles along the mountainside next to the railroad tracks

DSC_0576
Walking along the rails

DSC_0575
Walking along the rails

DSC_0596
Walking along the rails

DSC_7500
Icicles along the mountainside next to the railroad tracks

DSC_7503
Icicles along the mountainside next to the railroad tracks

DSC_7504
Walking along the rails

DSC_7512
Walking along the rails

DSC_0564
Walking along the rails

Later on I happened across a mountainside forest of red pines. Another very scenic area. To get to the red pine forest I had to walk a trail and cross a very sketchy, snow covered bridge held together with duct tape. I braved the snow covered bridge and frigid temperatures and hiked through the trails to the red pine forest.

DSC_0629
Snow covered bridge

DSC_0630
Trail leading to the red pine forest

DSC_0633
Trail leading to the red pine forest

DSC_0634
Trail leading to the red pine forest

DSC_0660
Red pine forest

DSC_0683
Red pine forest

DSC_0698
Me on the bridge. You can see the duct tape holding the railing together in the left of the photo.

And yet another scenic area not too far from the red pine forest. Alongside the road was a nice stream below street level which also presented for some very scenic views.

DSC_0704

DSC_0710

DSC_0720

Be sure to also visit my Flickr page for hi-res wildlife images.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/39797696@N00/

Thanks for visiting!

9 thoughts on “Walking the Rails

    • It was pretty scary at first but when I crossed it a few times it didn’t bother me anymore. It reminded me of the one I crossed in Africa but that one was much more scarier. The one in Africa was made in a similar manner but was much higher.

Leave a Reply

