Home

Not entirely. While the title might suggest that these wonderful birds are right in the backyard of my house, it is a little misleading. I started bird watching back in January of 2013 and didn’t know too much about where to go to see many of the different types of birds so I usually just went to one area which was the Barnegat Bay Lighthouse State Park. The lighthouse was approximately 1/2 hour from my house and while not a bad drive, wasn’t always possible.

Lo and behold, maybe five minutes from my house was a wildlife refuge right along the Barnegat Bay which wasn’t anything like the lighthouse but has it’s share of birds which differ from the usual ones I saw at the lighthouse. I was informed by a local resident whom I met at the lighthouse that this little area not too far from where I live was another option for viewing birds up close. This little area happens to be her front and backyards.

After visiting the area I made it a regular stop on my bird watching routes. My first visit was way back on April 16, 2013 and some pictures are posted below. I am so glad the local resident told me about this area and we have become very good friends and bird watching buddies since. With the refuge being so close to my house, I considered it my backyard 🙂

I have since moved away but still visit when I get the chance.

DSC_3724

DSC_3725

DSC_3726

DSC_0112
Immature Night Heron

DSC_0135
Forster’s Tern

DSC_0141
American Coot

DSC_0143
American Coot

DSC_0300
Greater Yellowlegs

DSC_0328
Greater Yellowlegs

DSC_0330
Greater Yellowlegs

DSC_0428
Red-winged Blackbird

DSC_0433
Forster’s Tern

DSC_0444
Turkey Vulture

DSC_0454

DSC_0509
Laughing Gull

DSC_0522
Laughing Gull

Be sure to also visit my Flickr page for hi-res wildlife images.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/39797696@N00/

Thanks for visiting!

22 thoughts on “Backyard Birding

  1. Hi Terence, Love the photographs of the American Coots. When I lived in Crossville, Tennessee, we had a home on the lake and saw Coots fairly often. Once had a flock on my front yard lawn! Have a super good day tomorrow!

  2. These pics are lovely. I am. Ew to photography and have been working at getting better bird pics as I see so many hiking. Most suck, frankly. These were a pleasure to look at and will keep me inspired to keep practicing. Thanks for the visit, too, to my blog. Nice to get to see your work.

    • Thank you! Bird photos take time. You need a lot of patience. If you stand in one spot where you see birds, they will eventually get accustomed to you as long as they don’t see you as a threat.

Leave a Reply

