Home

Back in April I had sold my house and moved to PA. It was a sad day seeing I was leaving the bay behind and all the birds with it. Luckily I still have family in NJ close to the bay so I frequently visit them so I could get my bird addiction filled.

After spending a few weeks in PA unpacking, I figured it was time to head back to the bay and see what spring brought. To my surprise, spring brought a wealth of migrants passing through the bay area and some that stay for the summer. I was glad to be back LOL!

The pics below taken with the new D7100 and Sigma 120-400 show the usual year round residents and some of the migrants I saw on May 13, 2013. Yes, I know, I am still behind and hope to catch up one day with up to date postings.

I hope you all enjoy the pics of the migrating birds as much as I enjoyed taking the pics of them.

Don’t forget to visit my Flickr page for some high resolution wildlife images.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/39797696@N00/

DSC_3682
Herring Gull

DSC_3715
Ruddy Turnstone turning into breeding plumage

DSC_3749
Purple Sandpiper turning into breeding plumage

DSC_3810
Sanderling turning into breeding plumage

DSC_3820
Sanderlings turning into breeding plumage

DSC_3860
Common Tern, spring migrant and stays for the summer

DSC_3914
Magnolia Warbler, spring migrant and sometimes stays for the summer

DSC_3973
Great Egret pretending to be an Ostrich. It was catching fish in the tide pool next to the jetty

DSC_3974
Great Egret. It was catching fish in the tide pool next to the jetty

DSC_3997
Great Egret. It was catching fish in the tide pool next to the jetty

DSC_4052
Great Egret.

DSC_4053
Great Egret.

DSC_4055
Great Egret.

DSC_4087
House Sparrow, spring migrant

DSC_4108
Northern Cardinal, female. Stays all year round

DSC_4118
Northern Cardinal, male. Stays all year round

DSC_4160
Black & White Warbler, spring migrant. Stays for the summer

DSC_4221
Northern Cardinal, male. Stays all year round

DSC_4230
Great-crested Flycatcher, spring migrant. Stays for the summer

DSC_4234
Black-crowned Night Heron, spring migrant and stays all summer

DSC_4244
Scarlet Tanager, spring migrant and sometimes stays for the summer

DSC_4267
Red-bellied Woodpecker. Stays all year round

DSC_4345
House Finch. Stays all year round

28 thoughts on “Spring Migrants Have Arrived

    • Thanks again Heather! The Cardinals are around all year but even though I see them every day, they are just too beautiful to pass up. The Scarlet Tanager has quickly become a favorite as you can see why.

    • Hi Heather, the camera and lens worked fine for the first five months but unfortunately I had to send both back for warranty work. The camera has a loose lens mounting ring and some serious back focusing issues along with some other things that were causing blurry images. The manufacturer says it will be covered by the warranty, I sure hope so. It is basically brand new. The lens was also not working properly I think due to the faulty lens mounting ring on the camera and it knocked the calibration out of whack so the lens manufacturer said to send it back and it is also covered by the warranty. I just hope I get them back soon. I really miss the 400mm zoom lens.

      I see you have been using your new camera a lot lately. You have been posting some great photos. Are you getting used to the menus and different settings?

Leave a Reply

