Home

These images are from my first outing with the new camera and lens at the bay. All taken on Apr. 17, 2013. A few days prior to this outing, I had gotten the new Nikon D7100 and Sigma 120-400 lens. My old camera, a Nikon D70s was getting really old and was only 6 megapixels which is ancient these days. Also, my old Sigma 70-300 lens died and no longer focuses, not even manual.

I took a couple days to get familiar with the menus of the new camera and another few days just sitting around the house due to heavy rains. Well, finally the rains cleared so I ventured out with the new setup and couldn’t wait to see the results. The new camera is light years ahead of my old one and getting used to the menus was really hard. The old camera compared to the new one was like driving a Chevy Chevette to a Lexus LS460. The differences were that far apart.

While I didn’t get the results I was expecting, they were far better than the old camera and lens.

On to the photos.

DSC_1326
Common Loon

DSC_0745
Common Loon

DSC_0771
Surf Scoter

DSC_0810
Surf Scoter

DSC_0841
Northern Gannet

DSC_0895
Double-crested Cormorant

DSC_0909
Double-crested Cormorant

DSC_0935
Brant

DSC_0944
Common Loon

DSC_0956
Common Loon

DSC_1023
Brant

DSC_1066
Double-crested Cormorant

DSC_1096
Double-crested Cormorant

DSC_1116
Ruddy Turnstone

DSC_1127
Northern Gannet

DSC_1238
Herring gull

DSC_1260
Brant

DSC_1267
Great Black-backed Gull

DSC_1280
Great Black-backed Gull

DSC_1321
Herring gull

15 thoughts on “Crab Cakes Anyone?

  1. Congrats on the new setup. I have had my D7000 for almost a year and still find days where I am “getting used to it”. Looking forward to the new images.

  2. awesome photos as always Terence…I think it takes it takes a great deal of time to get comfortable with new gear? I know I’m just now getting comfortable learning how to compose a descent photo, never mind being comfortable with how my camera works…that I’m sure will take another year 😉

  3. Thanks so much for visiting my site today. I am captivated by your gull photos. Wonderful! Love the one of the gull and the ray on your Flickr site.

Leave a Reply

