Home

Seeing the first post on dragonflies was so wildly popular, I have collected some more images to share.

Thanks to janechese and Karen’s Nature Art I now know the differences between a dragonfly and a damselfly. I still don’t know the names of each type but I can at least distinguish the differences between the two types now.

These photos were taken in different locations in and around NJ and PA.

Don’t forget to visit my Flickr page for some high resolution wildlife images.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/39797696@N00/

DSC_0268
Seen at Manahawkin Wildlife Management Area, NJ

DSC_0283
Beautiful tiger striped dragonfly seen at Manahawkin Wildlife Management Area, NJ

DSC_0293
Seen at Manahawkin Wildlife Management Area, NJ

DSC_0295
Seen at Manahawkin Wildlife Management Area, NJ

DSC_2934
This was a really big dragonfly. It was roughly four inches long. Seen at Cape May Point State Park, NJ

DSC_2695
Seen at Cape May Point State Park, NJ

DSC_4797
Teen sex? These two dragonflies were much smaller than the usual ones I have seen mating. They were maybe two inches long. I guess they have to start at a young age seeing they don’t live very long. Seen at Hazleton, PA

DSC_4939
Beautiful iridescent blue damselfly seen at Hazleton, PA

DSC_4959
Very cool looking purple damselfly seen at Hazleton, PA

DSC_4969
Seen at Hazleton, PA

26 thoughts on “Damsels and Dragons

    • Thanks! Dragonflies and Damselflies are in the same species but Dragonflies wings are off to the sides of the body when resting compared to Damselflies where the wings are over the body when resting. I have also noticed that Damselflies are smaller and more slender.

    • Thanks Noir! I am using a Sigma 120-400 with a Nikon D7100. I keep it mostly at 400 to get closer to capture the detail. With the D7100 being 24.1 megapixels, it is nicer to be able to crop the photo too. Most of the pics above are cropped but marginally.

    • Thanks Heather! These are new to me too and thanks to some of the other bloggers for pointing out the differences to me. I am into them just as much as the birds and it is fun getting out and trying to find new ones to photograph.

  1. I love these! The black winged ones (seen at Cape May Point State Park) are ones we get here in Egypt too! I have tried so many times to get one to stay still enough to photo but they flit around so fast I can’t actually capture one!! One day…

    • Thank you! If you wait a few minutes they usually land and you will be able to photograph them. Some will land for a while and some only land for a few seconds but they eventually land and when they land in one spot and fly off, they usually land again in the same spot. You just need to sit and wait. Good luck and hope to see some Egyptian Dragonflies on your blog soon.

  2. Hi Terence, thanks for liking my post!

    I can only identify the odonata we get here in Ottawa, but the last photo is of a Common Whitetail, the purple damselfly above it is a Violet Dancer, the black-winged damselflies above that are Ebony Jewelwings, the mating pair are Autumn Meadowhawks, and the one above those is another Common Whitetail.

    Because dragonflies start their lives as larva living underwater, they are quite old by the time they change into dragonflies. So any dragonfly you see is a fully-grown adult and can mate as soon as they are able to fly. Different species just come in different sizes! A good website that will help you out is New Jersey Odes. I often come across it when researching blog posts.

    Happy dragon-hunting!
    Gillian

  3. So beautiful! I absolutely love taking pictures of dragonflies. =) Damselfly? I have never heard of it, what is the difference between the two?

Leave a Reply

