Home

Trying to get back on track with the wildlife posts. These images were taken on April 8, 2013. I still have a lot of catching up to do.

To understand the title phrase, a Black-crowned Night Heron was at the bay early morning and was sitting on the rocks of the jetty. Not really royalty in the bird kingdom but thought it was befitting since the name is Black-crowned Night Heron. It looked very regal perched upon the rocks.

Other than the Black-crowned Night Heron which was a surprise to me, there was a dolphin. It stayed pretty far off shore and would occasionally surface for air. It was just passing by briefly so I didn’t get too many shots of it.

There were some other surprise visitors which approached me closer than normal. A few seals came within about 50 feet of me to inspect what I was doing. They stayed in the water and would swim by checking me out. I think I might have been on their resting place on the rocks but they never came up on the rocks, they just swam by a few times. I did move away to see if they would hop up but they just kept swimming by.

Some of the other usual visitors were the Harlequins, Gannets, Oystercatchers and Loons.

Don’t forget to visit my Flickr page for some high resolution wildlife images.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/39797696@N00/

DSC_8576
Black-crowned Night Heron

DSC_8585
Black-crowned Night Heron

DSC_8717
Northern Gannet

DSC_8751
Harlequin Duck, male

DSC_8752
Harlequin Duck, male

DSC_8766
Harlequin Duck, male

DSC_8946
Ipswich Sparrow

DSC_9095
American Oystercatcher

DSC_9104
American Oystercatcher

DSC_9184
American Oystercatcher

DSC_9230
Ipswich Sparrow

DSC_9243
Ipswich Sparrow

DSC_9250
Sanderling, winter plumage

DSC_9278
Harbor Seal

DSC_9279
Harbor Seal

DSC_9301
Harlequin Duck, male

DSC_9315
Red-throated Loon

DSC_9317
Red-throated Loon

DSC_9327
Dolphin

DSC_9352
Atlantic Ocean

DSC_9354
Harbor Seal

DSC_9360
Harbor Seal

DSC_9394
U.S.C.G. HH-65 Dolphin

DSC_9403
Common Loon, winter plumage, preening

18 thoughts on “The Barnegat Bay Graced By Royalty

    • Thanks Heather! You are correct about needing patience for wildlife photography and I do have some, not a lot but some hahaha! You also have to be very fast with the shutter button. Wildlife is so unpredictable that you have to be really fast and while I am not that quick, I have been practicing. One trick is to have the camera and lens set to continuous focus so it tracks the moving birds/wildlife and keeps the lens in focus at all times. Sounds simple but it takes a lot of practice. I am not fully there yet but still practicing when I can.

Leave a Reply

