Home

So I finally reach April on my Barnegat Bay posts and slowly catching up.

Photos taken on April 2, 2013.

A new migratory bird seen by me for the first time was a Greater Scaup frolicking in the bay. At first it was floating along by itself but later in the day it decided to blend in with the Oldsquaws. He thought mixing in with a different species would help hide it’s identity but the green head and baby blue bill stands out. It was great seeing a new species and one so colorful at that.

The Oystercatchers were in abundance that day and were scattered about on the jetty and tidepools. They are such characters.

The Harlequins were few and stayed far to the other side of the bay. I guess the fishing was better over there. To make up for the lack of Harlequin photos, I did manage to see a Black Bellied Plover in it’s winter plumage. Other than that, the usual Purple Sandpipers and Dunlins were giving another aerial display and what a sight to see.

Anyway, I won’t bore you with a lot of text. On to the pictures.

It was a beautiful sunny day and has been for a few days. I guess it was a sign of spring arriving but it was still bitterly cold even with the clear blue sky and bright sunshine in April.

Don’t forget to visit my Flickr page for some high resolution wildlife images.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/39797696@N00/

DSC_7014
Greater Scaup. The Greater Scaup and Lesser Scaup are almost identical and I can’t tell the two apart. The Greater Scaup is readily identified by it being in the salt water. Lesser Scaups prefer fresh water. It’s a good thing they prefer different types of water or else I wouldn’t be able to identify them.

DSC_7268
American Oystercatcher

DSC_7287
American Oystercatcher

DSC_7351
American Oystercatcher. This Oystercatcher wasn’t amused by the Brant trying to photobomb his photo. Actually, the Oystercatcher was chasing it away because it got a little too close to him/her.

DSC_7353
American Oystercatcher

DSC_7375
American Oystercatcher

DSC_7437
Dunlin, winter plumage, checking to see who is the fairest of them all in the reflection of the puddle on the rock.

DSC_7549
Northern Gannet

DSC_7602
Ipswich Sparrow

DSC_7779
Greater Scaup leading a flock of Oldsquaws

DSC_7890
Northern Gannet

DSC_7963
Double-crested Cormorant

DSC_8022
Black-bellied Plover, winter plumage

DSC_8251
I saw the real Easter Bunny hopping down the jetty. Actually it was an Oystercatcher hopping from rock to rock. I think it was playing hopscotch.

DSC_8273
Dunlins and Purple Sandpipers, winter plumage, giving an aerial display

DSC_8289
Dunlins and Purple Sandpipers, winter plumage, giving an aerial display

DSC_8318
Harbor Seal

DSC_8328
Harbor Seal

DSC_8404
Double-crested Cormorant

DSC_8405
Double-crested Cormorant

DSC_8406
Double-crested Cormorant

DSC_8474
American Oystercatcher

DSC_8496
American Oystercatcher

DSC_8520
American Oystercatcher

18 thoughts on “Hopscotch Oystercatcher

  1. fabulous shots as always…I’ve never seen many of the birds you photograph before so it is always interesting for me to see new ones…you have a areal knack for capturing birds! Love the reflection shot…the beak on the Osytercatcher is amazing…nice bright color!

    • Thanks Heather! A lot of the birds were new to me too as I just started birding early this year. It’s great to see the variety of birds that I never knew about. I never knew these birds were so colorful especially in NJ.

    • Thanks Sandra! I grew up along the seashore my entire life and I know what you mean about missing the seashore. I recently moved to the mountains and it really takes getting used to.

Leave a Reply

