Home

WOW! It’s August already. Seems I am five months behind because these images were taken from way back on March 20th. Looks like I have a lot of catching up to do.

Between traveling from NJ to PA every few weeks it makes it difficult to keep up with the postings but I promise, right after the summer I will try to post more regularly. I have so many more images (thousands) to post and hope I can fit them all in on WordPress.

So anyway, it looks as if some of the shore birds starting to change into their breeding plumage which was good for me as I got to see them in their winter plumage, intermediate plumage and now their breeding plumage. One of the more attractive breeding plumages of the shore birds is the Common Loon. It looks totally different from it’s winter plumage with it’s bright green neck ring with black and white striped neck rings as well. Even the top of the head started to turn green. What a beautiful plumage.

Most of the other shore birds still had their winter plumage but we had a couple new visitors that day. A few Red Knots showed up and mixed themselves in with the Ruddy Turnstones, Dunlins, Purple Sandpipers and Sanderlings. The Red Knot was pretty cool to see as it was the first time I actually got to photograph it.

The other visitors were the male Black Scoters with their all black plumage and bright yellow/orange knob on the base of the upper bill. A very cool looking duck that I wish I had more time to photograph them. They only stopped by for a short visit on their long migration back to the subarctic.

Besides the birds mentioned above, the Harlequins were still there but their numbers dwindled substantially. Only a very few were left lingering in the frigid waters of Barnegat Bay. Early winter/spring there were close to 60 or more but by March 20th, only about a dozen or so were left. The others had already left for their migration back to Canada and Alaska.

Well, on to the pics. I hope you all enjoy this long delayed update on Barnegat Bay.

DSC_3072
Common Loon, breeding plumage

DSC_3081
Common Loon, breeding plumage

DSC_3096
Common Loon, breeding plumage

DSC_3336
Harlequin Duck

DSC_3355
Harlequin Duck

DSC_3410
Northern Gannet

DSC_3412
Northern Gannet

DSC_3583
Black Scoter

DSC_3652
Black Scoter

DSC_3703
Black Scoter

DSC_3759
Great Cormorant

DSC_3778
Black Scoter

DSC_3780
Black Scoter

DSC_3850
Red Knot

DSC_3851
Red Knot

DSC_3918
Dunlin

DSC_3938
Sanderling

DSC_3952
Sanderling

DSC_3994
Purple Sandpiper

DSC_4025
Dunlin

7 thoughts on “Black Scoters at Barnegat Bay

  1. These are great pictures, as usual–glad to see the post again. I love loons. Growing up we often went to the lakes in northern MI and their haunting calls would carry across the lakes and catch us off guard. I would anticipate hearing and seeing them each time I went. Loved the Black Scoters, as well–don’t think I have seen those.

    • Thanks Cynthia! The Loons are very nice. I love the breeding plumage, so colorful. Their calls reminded me of a cat screeching. The Black Scoter is pretty cool too.

  2. I know…it is so hard for me to believe it is already Aug. 9th…time is flying by! as always, fabulous shots…you always manage to capture the birds beautifully!

    • Thanks again Heather! The credit goes to the birds that pose for me hahaha! Time sure flies by doesn’t it? I can’t believe it’s already August. I am hoping summer slows down so I can have more time to enjoy it. I hope you are having a great summer.

      • lol…I’m enjoying the summer…it was a bit slow in getting here but it is what it is, so I enjoy each day as it comes!
        for the most part, I see ducks, crows, and seagulls so I truly enjoy your bird series.

  3. I love your bird shots. The boardwalk adventure looks fun! Chaos is both exhilarating and exhausting. One question. Is the central watermark in your shots new? I inderstand the purpose but it kind of breaks the mood in some of the lighter shots. Your bird photos ate great, like a voyeur catching them in a bath! 😊

    • Thanks Cheryl! The watermark is new. Sorry for the obstruction of the images. It’s amazing how these birds can swim in the freezing cold waters that would kill us humans. It’s always fun seeing new birds for the first time and trying to find ot what they are.

Leave a Reply

