Home

Yes, you guessed it. Another post about the Barnegat Bay lighthouse. This time I combined two days into one. I again visited the bay on March 15 and 17 and on the 15th I saw my very first American Oystercatcher. They are very colorful birds and very nloisy too. Also on the 15th I saw a Herring Gull eating a starfish. The gull ripped one arm off and swallowed it then proceeded to swallow the rest of the starfish whole.

On the 17th I saw more Oystercatchers and I also saw a Great Black-backed Gull eating a stingray. The gull swallowed it whole, head first. There was an immature gull trying to eat a pice of styrofoam and I tried to scare the gull into dropping it but it flew off with it. I hope the gull didn’t eat any of it and is ok.

DSC_2641

DSC_2647

DSC_2659

DSC_2660

DSC_2668

DSC_2673

DSC_2674

DSC_2675

DSC_2681

DSC_2693

DSC_2735

DSC_2737

DSC_2749

DSC_2762

DSC_2833

DSC_2840

DSC_2841

DSC_2845

DSC_2849

DSC_2852

DSC_2947

DSC_2962

DSC_2966

DSC_2974

DSC_2989

DSC_2994

DSC_3001

DSC_3041

DSC_3047

DSC_3056

Sunset

7 thoughts on “Oystercatchers, Stingrays and a Starfish

    • Thanks! The gull flew away with the styrofoam and I have no idea what it did with it. The gull refused to let it go as if it were some prized posession. No matter what I did to try to retrieve the styrofoam the gull just ignored me.

      • Birds seem pretty smart. So, maybe that gull is thinking about using that styrofoam to make a bird ‘cooler’ to keep some of the fish they catch fresh for later. HaHa!

  1. You got some great pictures here too. Hope you don’t mind a contribution from me, but I’d try and cut down the number and focus on the best of the shots as I think you are more likely top grab attention. Just a thought, please ignore if you wish. MM 😟

Leave a Reply

