Home

Barnegat Bay Lighthouse on March 13, 2013. Finally, a nice sunny day.

The birds were the most avtive this day than any other day I have been there. A lot of flying and fishing going on. A very rare treat for me was to see the Harlequins fly again. A whole flock of Dunlins flew past me at high speed and was very cool to see. There are sometimes as many as a hundred that fly together but this time it was maybe fifty or so.

The catch of the day were crabs and the birds were catching crabs all day long. It was as if it was some kind of crab festival as every bird that dove came up with a crab on every dive. The birds were having a feast. Some of the birds were as colse as five feet away from me and it was very interesting watching them dive for crabs. Some of the photos are closer than normal because of the close proximty of the birds and I didn’t have time to adjust the zoom to fit the birds in the frame. The action was so fast I was just glad to get the photos of them crabbing.

One immature gull caught something I have no idea what it was. At first I thought it was an octopus but after viewing the image over and over I am not so sure it was an octopus. I can’t identify it at all. If anyone knows what it is please let me know. It is the 20th photo down, the one right after the lighthouse photo.

A nice end to the day was watching the beautiful sunset over the bay. This was definitely one of my better days.

I hope you all enjoy the photos as much as I enjoyed taking them.

DSC_0866

DSC_0906

DSC_0913

DSC_0930

DSC_0978

DSC_1082

DSC_1089

DSC_1099

DSC_1247

DSC_1251

DSC_1257

DSC_1259

DSC_1262

DSC_1353

DSC_1455

DSC_1501

DSC_1503

DSC_1504

DSC_1532

DSC_1557

DSC_1590

DSC_1611

DSC_1668

DSC_1688

DSC_1700

DSC_1709

DSC_1800

DSC_1830

DSC_1860

DSC_1890

4 thoughts on “Catch of the Day

  1. fabulous series of shots today…the birds are amazing…always love to see the lighthouse, and the sunset is gorgeous! Looks like you had a great day, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

