Home

Just another day at the lighthouse on March 2, 2013 and again duped by the weather forecasters. The forecast was for partly cloudy to sunny but it was heavy overcast most of the day with the sun peeking out once in a while.

The first image of the egg is sort of sad. I was walking along the jetty and I saw a guy poking at something between the rocks with a stick and I overheard him saying he wants it. By the time I actually got to the area he was at, he walked away and I was curious as to what he wanted so badly and was poking at. It was an egg. When I got there, I saw the egg destroyed. I don’t know if the guy destroyed it or it was already destroyed but it is actually against the law to remove bird eggs from the beach. Why he was so determined to get the egg was a mystery and still a mystery as to how the egg got destroyed.

The Loons and seagulls were very trusting of me and were coming up real close. Some were as close as a few inches away from me. In some of the images below you can see some closeups of an immature gull that sat right in front of me for a good hour or more. Some of the Common Loons were in mixed plumage. Some were in their usual winter plumage while some were starting to change over into their breeding plumage but still early in the change over. It was very interesting to see the different variation during the change.

Another bird that was getting pretty close to me was a female Surf Scoter. It would come up real close to eat mussels off the edges of the rocks.

To answer the title question of “Why so crabby?” I saw some kids reaching into the rocks trying to get a Spider Crab from between the rocks. They were trying everything possible to remove it from the rocks and ended up breaking off one of it’s legs. In the image below you can see the crab in it’s hiding place and the following images is of the crab after the kids removed it from the rocks with the one missing leg. The crab was about dead by the time the kids got done with it. I don’t think this type of crab is even edible to humans. Why can’t people just leave things alone?

Despite another dreary day and seeing some sad human behavior, it was a decent day anyway. On to the pics.

DSC_8060

DSC_8073

DSC_8083

DSC_8095

DSC_8096

DSC_8129

DSC_8131

DSC_8161

DSC_8172

DSC_8193

DSC_8212

DSC_8225

DSC_8271

DSC_8275

DSC_8305

DSC_8333

DSC_8339

DSC_8353

DSC_8361

DSC_8392

DSC_8427

DSC_8431

DSC_8450

DSC_8453

13 thoughts on “Why so crabby?

    • Hi Robert, I saw some kids throwing rocks at some Oystercatcher birds that are endangered and I spoke to the park ranger about it and he said he couldn’t be everywhere at once. The park isn’t that big and of all the itmes I have been there I have never seen the ranger patrol once. I questioned him about it and he just shrugged it off. If no one enforces the rules then everyone will break the rules. I asked if they were hiring and they told me no. I would love to work at the park and enforce the rules but no such luck.

    • Hi Robert, the Harlequins usually don’t mind if you keep your distance and don’t spook them. Once they get used to you they will go on with their daily routine as if you weren’t there.

  1. Wonderful collection of photos from the day. Sorry it was spoiled by negative stuff. I love your harlequin shot of the group. I don’t generally get to see so many together, though they often stop by on the river at my home in the spring.

    • Thanks Sheri! The Harlequns are pretty common at the bay during the winter and in January/February you can see as many as 50-60 at a time. They usually have their little groups though anywhere from 2-3 to as many as 10-12. They start to leave around late March into early April. You will see 3 or 4 stragglers in mid April but they are usually all gone by then. The Harlequins are fun to watch and are my favorite duck.

Leave a Reply

