Home

Just another day at Barnegat Bay Lighthouse. I have been visiting the lighthouse a lot lately and again on Feb 25, 2013 was just another day looking for migrating birds stopping over for winter break.

It was another nice sunny day but again bitterly cold. I did manage to see the female Surf Scoter up close and she even hopped up on a rock right in front of me to preen. A female Red-breasted Merganser flew right in front of me and decided to poop as she flew by hahahaha! Isn’t it good luck when a bird poops on you? I didn’t get pooped on but close enough hahaa!

On another note, I saw a dead female Oldsquaw that got tangled in someone’s fishing line. The fishing line was wrapped around the duck and she couldn’t get free and drowned. Very sad. The law states that people fishing are supposed to remove all fishing line from the area but apparently some people don’t care. I am disappointed in the human race when I see stuff like this happen. I tried to get the fishing line from the water but the rocks were too slippery. I was disappointed in myself and should have tried harder.

On to the pictures.

DSC_6379

DSC_6413

DSC_6415

DSC_6461

DSC_6480

DSC_6511

DSC_6516

DSC_6547

DSC_6555

DSC_6558

DSC_6571

DSC_6585

DSC_6604

DSC_6609

DSC_6624

DSC_6625

12 thoughts on “Everybody poops!

  1. Please, don’t be disappointed in yourself. You did your best and that is all you can do. You do such wonderful things by sharing your love of nature and animals and bringing these fabulous photos to people like me who wouldn’t ordinarily see them. I thank you for that.

  2. these bird photos are beyond beautiful…nicely done! don’t feel disappointed Terence…you tried, I imagine it would have been life threatening if you had slipped on the rocks into the water/…I’m sure it was freezing cold back in February, probably still is cold!

    • Thanks Heather! The water was freezing and still is. I hate seeing things like that happen and it makes me even more aware now of the surroundings.

  3. I agree with everybody else. Great shots, and no need to feel bad about not being able to get that line out of the water. We do what we can, but you don’t want to be falling in to freezing waters for something like that.

Leave a Reply

