Home

Cruise on the Carnival Destiny
Way back in Y2K, my very first real vacation since I was a child, was decided by my friends to be a cruise. Cruises are an inexpensive way to see multiple places on one trip. Not necessarily being all inclusive as your alcohol and tours are separate, still for the price, all meals are included.

As for the stops, every cruise has an assortment of places set for each ship. This particular cruise, we chose the Carnival Destiny because it was going from Puerto Rico to St. Thomas, St. John, Aruba and Curacao then back to Puerto Rico. My friends wanted a variety of places and as tropical as you can get.

Places visited:
St. John, Trunk Bay
St. Thomas
Puerto Rico
Aruba
Curacao

img091

img124

img097

img102

img094

img241

img242

img237

img278

img117

img120

img129

img189

img190

img286

img283

img119

img281

img260

img273

img213

img208

img145

img216

img174

img175

img176

img177

img179

img184

27 thoughts on “I’m sailing, I’m sailing

    • Thanks Heather. The images were scanned from 35mm negatives. I didn’t have a digital camera back then. I would love to go back to all the places shown above but St. John was probably my favorite stop. The beaches were incredible.

      • welcome…all the places look amazing, but out of them all St. John would be the place I would love to visit…it looks different from any of the places I’ve been to in the Caribbean…maybe that is why???

    • Thanks for visiting! Lake Michigan I am sure has some great views as well. I used to travel a lot and have recently discovered that my local area is full of wildlife that I never knew about. You should be getting birds migrating north now by Lake Michigan.

    • Thanks for stopping by! Cruises are fun and give you plenty of opportunities to visit many places at once. The only draw back is that the visits are quite short but you do get to see a few places instead of just one. The food was great too onboard. For the money, cruises can’t be beat.

  1. I went sailing in 2011 on Carnival Destiny. We went to the Bahamas though–Nassau, Grand Turk and another little island I keep forgetting the name of. Had a beautiful time. I love cruising!

    • Thanks for visiting! Your stops sound great. I will have to try those next time. Cruises are great but with the rash of Carnival mishaps lately I will have to rethink Carnival and look at other options.

  2. Must be amazing, to be on such a big cruise ship exploring all these beautiful countries with tons of gorgeous beaches!

    Did you still have enough time to visit the various places?

    Cheers
    Pieter

Leave a Reply

