Home

Barnegat Bay Lighthouse State Park, Feb 10, 2013

The Harlequins don’t actually make a quack sound, they sound more like a squeaky toy.

Some of the birds seen on that day:

Oldsquaw winter plumage male

Harlequin Duck male

Harlequin Duck female

Red-breasted Merganser

Great Cormorant

Bufflehead Duck female

Common Loon

DSC_2950

DSC_2970

DSC_2974

DSC_3042

DSC_3059

DSC_3093

DSC_3121

DSC_3124

DSC_3171

DSC_3187

DSC_3190

DSC_3213

DSC_3253

DSC_3337

DSC_3392

DSC_3422

DSC_3433

DSC_3453

6 thoughts on “Who are you calling a quack?

  1. I very much enjoy your bird photos…love the Harlequin duck they have such gorgeous colouring! the 3 Oldsquaw look so beautiful in flight…having said that any bird looks beautiful in flight!

    • Thanks Heather, I really appreciate your comments. I have a lot more bird photos from the bay area and will post the day to day series when I can. I am so far behind because I have been at the bay so many times lately. The birds don’t always fly for me but I try to catch them in flight when I can. As you said, they look beautiful in flight.

      • your welcome…I understand…when I began the blog my goal was one possibly two posts a day and since I’ve been away I’ve only done three…I’m feeling behind myself! I’ll watch for the bird posts!

Leave a Reply

