Home

One of the many visitors to my tree/feeder is the Downy Woodpecker. I should say visitor to the tree as it doesn’t eat from the feeder. It just pecks away at the bark on the tree. Actually there are two Downy visitors, one a female and one a male. Both are very fun to watch as they hop from branch to branch pecking away. The male has a red patch on the back of the head making it easier to identify as a male. The female has no red.

Female

Female

Female

Female

Female

Female

Male

Male

Male

Male

Male

Male

Male

Male

14 thoughts on “Downy Woodpecker

    • Thanks for visiting. Very cool they eat from your feeder. I have sunflower seeds in my feeder and I also have a separate suet feeder but they never eat from mine. They only concentrate on the tree bark.

  1. amazing photos…the last couple show off the red cap nicely! I love your close ups…may I ask do you use a special zoom lens for these close ups?

    • Thanks again Heather. Sometimes they let me get close and I can get a good closeup. I have a Nikon D70s DSLR and I use a Sigma 70-300mm zoom lens and these were all taken at 300mm. My lens is actually about 10-11 years old and I need a new one soon. This one is starting to die on me. It doesn’t work half the time. I am hoping to get the new lens later this month of early next month.

Leave a Reply

