Home

My friends and I got the idea to book a vacation somewhere in the Caribbean. Seeing none of us has ever been to The Dominican Republic, we figured it would be a great idea to head there. We did our research and found the Barcelo Bavaro Beach in Punta Cana which was an all inclusive resort. We chose the week of September 20th to September 27th, 2008. This was the only time we could all get together for our trip.

This was right smack in the middle of hurricane season. Sure enough, we got hit by Hurricane Kyle. For five straight days we had torrential downpour. Not to let the hurricane defeat us, we had plenty of food and plenty of El Presidente beer. It seems I am a hurricane magnet. In 2008, Hurricane Kyle, in 2011 Hurricane Irene and now 2012, Hurricane Sandy.

We had plans to do some sightseeing in and around the Punta Cana area but the hurricane had flooded the roads and we were relegated to the confines of the resort.

Flying into The Dominican Republic

Flying into The Dominican Republic

Disembarking the aircraft

Disembarking the aircraft

View from hotel room

View from hotel room

View to my left from my lounge chair on the beach

View to my left from my lounge chair on the beach

View looking up from my lounge chair on the beach

View looking up from my lounge chair on the beach

View looking straight ahead from my lounge chair on the beach

View looking straight ahead from my lounge chair on the beach

View to my right from my lounge chair on the beach

View to my right from my lounge chair on the beach

Punta Cana

Punta Cana

Punta Cana

Punta Cana

Punta Cana

Punta Cana

Punta Cana

Punta Cana

Punta Cana. Crystal clear water

Punta Cana. Crystal clear water

Hurricane approaching

Hurricane approaching

Barcelo Bavaro pool

Barcelo Bavaro pool

Punta Cana

Punta Cana

View of Punta Cana from the kayak

View of Punta Cana from the kayak

Punta Cana

Punta Cana

Riding the Segway in Punta Cana

Riding the Segway in Punta Cana

Punta Cana

Punta Cana

14 thoughts on “La Republica Dominicana

    • Thanks for visiting. If you ever get the chance please do visit there. Look for all inclusive hotel where the food and drinks are included for no extra charge and make sure to avoid hurricane season.

  1. gorgeous photos…I’ve never been there but your photos definitly do it justice, the photo of the “crystal clear water” is amazing, the Caribbean has some of the most beautiful water, always so clear and blue/green!

    …you’ve been around three hurricanes, hopefully that is your last! good thing you had the El Presidente beer, not sure how you would have survived other wise… 😉

    • Thanks Heather. The Dominican Republic has some great beaches and I do wish I was there right now drinking an El Presidente beer hahaha!

      Yes, I have been in four hurricanes but I forgot the first one which was a very long time ago. The last three were more recent so I remembered them.

      There is a lot more to see besides the hotel beaches but the hurricane really put a damper on our travels so we never got to see anything besides the hotel grounds and beaches. Maybe next time if there is a next time. I hope there is. 🙂

  2. Always a bummer when the weather interferes with our plans. However, your photos are great. Looks like you did get to see the Beach in Punta Cana at its best — if, only briefly.

    • Thanks for visiting. The hurricane managed to ruin some plans but you can’t fight mother nature. The Dominican Republic has some of the best beaches I have ever seen. It was a shame we had to leave.

Leave a Reply

