Home

I spent a good hour on my front porch early Tuesday morning watching the world go by and during that hour I saw some pretty interesting animal hijinks. The morning started off very cold, dreary and rainy with a turkey hawk circling my house, a squirrel eating berries and a cardinal standing watch. The rain and clouds eventually disappeared and the day turned into a beautiful sunny day. One weird thing was that once the rain went away, so did the animals.

Here are some of the pictures I took Tuesday morning.

Squirrel enjoying berries on my front lawn. Debris in the background caused by Hurricane Sandy still litters the area seven weeks later.

Turkey hawk landing on my neighbor’s roof. I couldn’t quite get the focus right because of too many branches.

Turkey Hawk circling over the squirrel on my front lawn.

Cardinal standing watch making sure the turkey hawk doesn’t swoop in on him.

Rain drops clinging to the tips of the branches on my weeping cherry tree.

Squirrel standing watch as the clouds moved on to reveal a beautiful blue sky.

Squirrel standing watch as the clouds moved on to reveal a beautiful blue sky.

11 thoughts on “Animal hijinks

  1. I so enjoy your photos. Don’t ever say you “don’t bring anything to the table”! You certainly do! That photo of the red cardinal took me back to a time that I miss tremendously and so enjoyed. It touched me.That’s what you bring to the table.

    • Thank you for the compliment, very much appreciated. I am so glad you liked the pictures and that the cardinal brought back memories. Thanks again for stopping by.

    • Thanks for stopping by. The variety of wildlife is always fun to watch. The Turkey Hawk is menacing and the wildlife is always on high alert when it soars overhead.

  2. I am a South African filmmaker and designer, and your photograph took my breath away! There is interesting and sensitive balance between the proud and majestic red bird the melancholy of the surroundings space. Thank you for inspiring me.

    • Thanks for visiting. Glad I could inspire you. I was lucky enough that the cardinal let me get that close to take the closeup. He has been very leery lately though.

  3. Love the cardinal photograph! I live in an area where we are not blessed to see this colorful bird. However, we do have lots of turkey hawks here. They are called turkey buzzards where I live. They are very majestic despite their reputation. I love watching them cruise with a good thermal.

    • Thanks for visiting. The cardinal is a rare visitor and when he does visit, he is chased away by the blue jays. I am hoping he becomes a regular visitor if the blue jays will allow him. The turkey hawks/buzzards/vultures are very scary looking but so graceful in the air. I hope you get some cardinals your way.

  4. What wonderful observation of nature! So many people would just let it go without thinking…It reminds me of when I was baptised in the River Jordon. There were two egrets standing, as they do, on one leg on the opposite Bank. Two dogs sat quietly on the dam above without moving. Skylarks circled, dived and called and then when I went into the water I noticed that small fish were nibbling my feet! It was certainly a baptism with the animals!

  5. Reblogged this on johndwmacdonald and commented:
    What wonderful observation of nature! So many people would just let it go without thinking…It reminds me of when I was baptised in the River Jordon. There were two egrets standing, as they do, on one leg on the opposite Bank. Two dogs sat quietly on the dam above without moving. Skylarks circled, dived and called and then when I went into the water I noticed that small fish were nibbling my feet! It was certainly a baptism with the animals!

Leave a Reply

