Home

This is a follow up to my previous post on Bali which can be seen here https://twng32.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/bali-indonesia/.

After quelling my thirst to see Thailand, I still had a burning desire to see more of South East Asia. Next on my list of places to see was Indonesia.

I didn’t want to be restricted to just Bali while in Indonesia. I had a thirst to see more of Indonesia than just that one Island. If I had to spend the whole two weeks in Bali though I wouldn’t have minded but I needed to whet my insatiable appetite for travel.

My trip to Thailand was more or less all planned through a travel agency which included airfare, hotels, some meals, transportation and tours. This trip to Indonesia was to be more of an off the beaten path type of trip. This left me in somewhat of a precarious position as it would be my second time traveling with no set plans. My first being Kenya. I tried to read up on most aspects of the areas I wanted to visit but living in my own microcosmic world, this was still very alien in nature to me.

After contemplating how I would attack this plan. I contacted my friend who is Indonesian and asked his advice. The trip caught his attention and he was also interested in traveling with me. Thanks to the handy Lonely Planet guide books I found some unique and interesting places in both Bali and Java. This left me to genuflect once again that this trip was going to happen.

With the unplanned plans taken care of, I was on my way to Indonesia, Java more specifically. Java is home to the capital of Indonesia, Jakarta which is where our plane landed. From Jakarta we headed to Bandung which is where my friend’s family resides. After a brief family visit, we were on our adventure.

This particular trip as stated earlier was more off the beaten path. This gave us a lot of chances for some street photography, which I did not take advantage of previously in Thailand (regrettably so).

On to the photos. Taken in May 2008.

Some necessary items to take for the trip. Cell phone in case of emergency. Ipod for the long flight to and from Indonesia. A watch so you can keep track of local time. Camera for the all important photos (this is my backup camera). Passport, visa, cash and international medical card.

Necessary items

Necessary items

More necessary items, cash. The most important item

Flying from Bali to Bandung

Flying from Bali to Bandung

Flying into Bandung from Bali

Flying into Bandung from Bali

Flying into Bandung from Bali

Arriving in Bandung

Bandung01

Bandung, family on a bike

Bandung02

Bandung, street vendors

Bandung04

Bandung, line of bikes waiting for the light to change.

Bandung07

Bandung, another family on a bike

Food cart, Bandung

Food cart, Bandung

Locals, Bandung

Locals, Bandung

Great Mosque Minarets, Bandung

Sari Ater Hot Spring Bandung

Sari Ater Hot Spring Bandung

Sari Ater Hot Spring Bandung

Bikes line the street in front of stores, Bandung

Local transporting goods the old fashioned way to and from stores, Bandung

Local transporting goods the old fashioned way to and from stores, Bandung

Walking the streets of Bandung. Colorful bicycle taxis line the streets

Walking the streets of Bandung. Colorful bicycle taxis line the streets

Food cart, Bandung

Heavy traffic, Bandung

Heavy traffic, Bandung

Food in Bandung

More food in Bandung

More food in Bandung

Custard in Bandung

Bintang beer

Bintang beer

Vehicle with no cabin on highway in bandung

Mountain road on our way to Tangkuban

Mountain road on our way to Tangkuban

Me in Tangkuban

Tangkuban

Tangkuban

Stores along a foot path in Tangkuban

Locals, Lembang

Locals, Lembang

Locals, Lembang

Locals, Jogja

Locals, Jogja

Locals, Jogja

Prambanan Hindu Temple, Java

Prambanan Hindu Temple, Java

Prambanan Hindu Temple, Java

Prambanan Hindu Temple, Java

Prambanan Hindu Temple, Java

Prambanan Hindu Temple, Java

Borobudur, Buddhist Temple, Java

Borobudur, Buddhist Temple, Java

Borobudur, Buddhist Temple, Java

Dieng Plateau, Telaga Warna

Dieng Plateau, Telaga Warna

Dieng Plateau, Hindu Temple, Java

Dieng Plateau, Hindu Temple, Java

Dieng Plateau, Hindu Temple, Java

Dieng Plateau, Hindu Temple, Java

Dieng Plateau, Hindu Temple, Java

Dieng Plateau, Hindu Temple, Java

Colorful buildings. Somewhere on Java

Colorful buildings. Somewhere on Java

14 thoughts on “Java, Indonesia

    • Thanks for visiting. It was quite an adventure with no set itinerary. I kind of like it that way as I didn’t have to rush around like I would if I chose a tour company.

    • Thanks for stopping by. Yes, I have now seen Bali and parts of Java. I would really like to have seen more but didn’t stay as long as I would have liked to. If I do go back I would really like to see Kalimantan and Lombok. I would love to stay and live the island lifestyle.

  1. Great photos! Looks like you got off the beaten path. Photos of Borobudur and Prambanan brought back some memories. Check out the island of Flores if you return.

    • Thanks for stopping by. This trip I went off the beaten path. It was great not having a set schedule. I would love to return to see more and hopefully get back there soon.

    • Thanks for visiting. Indonesia is a great place to visit and if you ever get the chance to go you will not be disappointed. Unfortunately I was only there for a very short two weeks. I wish I could have stayed a lot longer. There is so much more to see and do there and I don’t even think a year there would cover it all.

      • I would love to visit Indonesia someday…I would love to visit Indonesia, Japan, India, Peru, Brasil, Australia, USA, Russia … unfortunately, from me(Romania) to India or Indonesia, the cost is about 1000+ euros and a medium salary in Romania is about 300 – maximum 400 euros. That sucks 😦

Leave a Reply

