Home

This past summer I decided to head to the Wildwoods boardwalk in NJ. Wildwoods is located in Cape May County, the southern part of NJ and the boardwalk overlooks the Atlantic Ocean. I have never been before even though I live roughly 1.5 hours away from there. The summer of 2012 was a hot, humid and mostly sunny summer until of course the day I chose to go to the Wildwoods. It was cloudy, rainy and chilly all day but there was no turning back. I had the urge to dive into a Mr. Softee ice cream and the rain wasn’t going to stop me.

There are plenty of rides, games and food on the boardwalk for everyone. If the food on the boardwalk isn’t your style, there are plenty of restaurants on the side streets.

Here are the pictures, sorry for the quality. I only had my point and shoot camera and with the rain and all, it wasn’t a good day to take pictures.

Main entrance to the boardwalk but you can enter almost anywhere on the boardwalk itself. (Below)

 

Mural on one of the buildings on the boardwalk (Below)

 

Mr. Softee store and me ready to dig into the ice cream (Below)

 

Some of the games you can play to win prizes. There is an aquarium, mini golf areas and also paint ball (Below)

 

You can also play a game of Fruit Ninja on a giant screen (Below)

 

Some of the restaurants on the boardwalk (Below)

 

This is the entrance to the rides (Below)

 

I walked to the end of the boardwalk area (Below)

 

Even though it was rainy, the ferris wheel had a big smile for us all (Below)

4 thoughts on “Walking the boards

    • Hi Court, as the post says, these pictures were from this past summer. I haven’t been able to get back to the Wildwoods yet and I haven’t even heard on the news how badly it was affected. Seaside Heights on the other hand from what I have seen on the news is totally destroyed. I used to live across the bridge from Seaside Heights and spent many summers there in my teen years. All bridges heading to the coast are closed to the public so no one can access their homes. Hoping everyone is safe and hoping for a quick recovery.

  1. The first time I went to America was in 1989 and I lived and worked in Wildwood NJ. I worked in a shop on the high street, and then another shop in the Boardwalk Mall. I have no recollection of what it looked like as I didn’t take many photos. I got my first proper camera as a treat for myself at the end of that trip with my Labor Day bonus

    It was really really hot when I was there but as I worked 84 hours a week I came home as white as I had left 4 months later! It was great fun though… I will post my story in ‘My Travels’ section eventually!!

    • Hi Barbara, thanks for stopping by. Looking forward to your story. NJ summers do get a bit hot but that’s the best time to get out and enjoy the beaches. I live close to many boardwalks and have not visited too many. I have always taken them for granted and seeing I will be moving away from the shore soon I thought it was time to get out and see the sights in NJ. I am going to miss the boardwalks and the shore areas.

      My younger days were similar to yours where I didn’t take many pictures and once I hit the work force I didn’t have time to do much. I am now realising that you have to stop and smell the roses every once in a while.

      Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

