Home

When traveling, most everyone wants to preserve their memories in photos. If you are like me, I try to capture everything of my trip. The good thing with digital cameras is that it’s digital. No need for developing film. With digital, you can take as many pictures as you want and always delete them later if not to your liking.

On a typical two week vacation, I usually take somewhere around 1,500 pictures. By the time I narrow them down to the ones I want to keep I usually end up with around 1,000 +/-. Out of the 1,000 or so, only about 10% or less are actually good shots. I keep the 1,000 or so anyway because they capture everything that I did during my trip. I store the photos on DVD’s for backup so I don’t clutter my computer’s hard drive.

It is important to keep your photo equipment from the elements. I use a camera specific backpack which houses all my equipment. Sometimes it gets heavy but if I don’t need everything then I unpack some of the unnecessary items to lighten the load. The backpack is also handy for carrying other items as well.

My gear consists of a DSLR, different lenses, backup batteries and memory cards, a flash and cleaning items. I also have a backup point and shoot camera and a digital media reader. The media reader can read my memory cards and I can store pictures on it if I find that I am running out of room on my memory cards. The media reader has a larger screen than both my cameras so it is handy to review the pictures taken on your trips.


Me, not very photogenic


Camera and equipment: Nikon D70s, Sigma 70-300, Nimon 18-70, Nikon 50, Nikon SB600 flash, Nikon remotes and assorted CF cards.


Backpack


Olympus point and shoot backup camera and Creative Zen 30G media player/card reader.

The new gear bought in April, 2013.
DSC_3715
Nikon D7100 w/Sigma 120-400 alongside the very old now retired Sigma 70-300

DSC_3714
Nikon D7100 w/Sigma 120-400

DSC_3713
Nikon D7100 w/Sigma 120-400

DSC_3712
Nikon D7100 w/Sigma 120-400

DSC_3716
Nikon D7100 w/Sigma 120-400

Thanks for visiting and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Me and my photo gear

  1. I always enjoy reading about other photographer’s equipment and lenses. Perhaps you might like to write which lenses you have. I have a Canon DSLR, so can’t see much from your photo above.

    • Hi Victoria. Thanks for visiting. My gear shown above consists of an old Nikon D70s (6 megapixels and 8 years old), A Nikon 50mm 1.8, a Nikon 18-70 3.5-4.5 and a very, very old Sigma 70-300 4-5.6 (12 years old).

      I did just upgrade the other day (Monday) to a new Nikon D7100 (24 megapixels) and a new Sigma 120-400 4.5-5.6 lens. I will post a new post showing my new gear soon.

      Canon is very nice and I love the crisp, clear colors that Canon produce but I already have Nikon gear and wanted another Nikon where I could switch lenses and other gear I already have that is Nikon specific. If I went Canon I would have to buy all new equipment which wasn’t in my budget.

      What Canon gear do you have?

  2. I’m like Victoria: I too am already observing what other photographers use. I have a Canon 60D and a Canon Tsi3. the lenses I use most is 70-200 2.8 and 20mm and the 18-55. I am looking to get a few more lenses, just trying to see what would overall work best for me. Thank you twng for sharing your story and your equipment.

    • Thanks smarchel! I just updated the post with pictures of my new gear. You have very nice cameras and gear. The 70-200 2.8 is a sweet lens. Looking forward to seeing more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

